Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association

Community \ MOFGA Notes

Read about MOFGA staff, board members, the Fair, volunteers, MOFGA members and more!

Congratulations, 2019 Russell Libby Scholarship Winners

April 25, 2019

Three $1,500 agricultural scholar awards, generously supported by Lee Auto Malls, are awarded annually by Source (Portland Press Herald) in partnership with MOFGA and in honor of the late Russell Libby. Kathryn Brayson won the Maine high school senior scholarship. She hopes to study animal science at UMaine and eventually become a veterinarian. Kelsey Herrington of Two Farmers Farm in Scarborough won the MOFGA journeyperson award and will put the funding toward a mechanical root harvester. Zabet NeuCollins won the teacher, school or education center award. A gardener, educator and community outreach coordinator for the Women's Health Resource Library, which started the community-wide project Incredible Edible Milbridge in Washington County, she'll use the money for materials for a children's garden. Read more at

Previous Article Organic Producer Katheryn Langelier Honored
Next Article 2017 Census of Agriculture Shines Bright Spot on Organic Production